Education Policy

Student Immigration Policy

Permanent Resident Application

Foreign students studying in Singapore can apply for permanent residence in Singapore as long as they meet the following three conditions.
1. Student is studying in Singapore;
2. Have lived in Singapore for more than two years;
3. Passed a national exam such as: PSLE or “N” / “O” / “A” level.

Student Immigration Policy

Singapore Citizenship Application

You are eligible to apply for Singapore citizenship if you are:
1. A Permanent Resident (PR) studying in Singapore;
2. Residing in Singapore for more than three years;
3. Passed a national exam such as: PSLE or “N” / “O” / “A” level.

Student Immigration Policy

Singapore Bursary Details

The Singapore Ministry of Education provides approximately S$238 million in scholarships and tuition grants to international students studying in Singapore each year.
Scholarship: Singapore’s admission awards to attract outstanding foreign students to study in Singapore.
Bursary: Singapore subsidies for tuition and accommodation for foreign students attending public universities.

Singapore allocates about 13 billion on education every year, and “the vast majority” is spent on local students. Generally, after subsidy, a local Singaporean undergraduate pay about 25% of the university’s tuition fees.
A total subsidy of S$238 million are allocated for international students with breakdown of 130 million on scholarship, which is equivalent to 1% of the total annual budget. While another estimation of S$108 million dollars allocated as tuition grant.
International students who register for the tuition grant must work in Singapore or overseas registered Singapore company for three to six years after graduation. The Singapore Scholarship Policy applies only to selected school example public universities and public polytechnics in Singapore.

The six universities are:
National University of Singapore
Nanyang Technological University
Singapore Management University
Singapore University of Technology and Design
Singapore Institute of Technology
Singapore University of Social Sciences

The five polytechnics are:
Singapore Polytechnic
Ngee Ann Polytechnic
Temasek Polytechnic
Nanyang Polytechnic
Republic Polytechnic

Art colleges are:
Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts
LASALLE College of the Arts

Other institutions:
Institute of Technical Education